A Web 2.0 Life

So I’ll admit it: I’m hooked.

I never thought about it much before, but since the first day of my Web 2.0 class at Quinnipiac University this semester I have been eating, drinking and dreaming web 2.0. Now when I say dreaming I don’t mean that during my REM sleep I’m sifting through new venture ideas and trying to decipher random bits of code. What I do mean is that I have a plethora (thanks Three Amigos) of ideas for websites and applications for the web 2.0 world that I am/would like to be working on. If travel weren’t so darn expensive – can also be read as “if I weren’t a student trying to pay for college” – I would be down in NYC this week with the Carrot Creative Crew hashing out ideas for my business plan that’s going into the CT state competition. But seriously, I’m excited to become a part of this industry.

I was thinking today as I was riding through Boston why I feel so compelled to excel in this field and I came up with a few answers. My first thought is that I think I have great ideas. Yeah, I know, so does everyone else. But when you can convince yourself – and others agree – that you can compete with  the bigs dogs of an industry, it helps tremendously with the will to succeed. Not to mention anyone with a great idea has a chance of hitting it big. I love it when the underdog really has a chance.

Thought two. The web 2.0 community has a way of making everyone feel accepted. I guess that’s the point really, but it makes me feel good. Take this as an example: Robert Scoble and a well-known new media marketing firm are following my updates on Twitter. To be honest, I don’t give a damn that Scoble is also following over 12,000 other people … the fact that he took the time to click “follow” on my account made my day and made me feel important. I don’t think that if I were trying to become a real estate mogul that Donald Trump would be too thrilled to know what I’m up to on Twitter.

Thought three. Everyone loves the thought of hitting it big. When Microsoft announced that they are going to acquire 20 upstart internet businesses a year for the next five years it had to give people with great ideas goosebumps. Yeah, I know it’s like hitting the lottery – but you can’t win if you don’t play.

Really what it comes down to is that I am being given the opportunity of a lifetime. I have already made more connections in past 2 months than I have in the past 2 years. I’m meeting high-profile developers. I have a great and successful new media marketing firm offering help with my business plans.

I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing right now. Why didn’t this come along sooner? Who cares, I’m just going to work my ass off, enjoy it and hope that it continues to bring me happiness and success.

Leave a Reply

