MySpace Applications and Network “Critique”

So I very recently – and grudgingly – created a MySpace account, the sole purpose of which was to check out the new and highly anticipated applications that were just launched. Up until this point I had resisted the networking giant’s tug because I felt like I didn’t belong there. The cluttered pages, mind-numbing color combinations and clutter just didn’t appeal to me. Once I joined, I learned two things though: applications have a huge impact on social networks, and I still don’t belong on MySpace.

The fact that I joined a social network just to see what kind of applications it offered surprised me. I hadn’t thought about it until today, but it really shows the immense appeal of applications. They convinced a non-adopter to create an account. Damn. That’s impressive. When I did finally see the applications that they are offering, I was a bit disappointed. It seemed like the same old run-of-the-mill apps: poker, top pics, quote of the day, etc. Granted, there are a few cool new applications such as Picnik, a photo editing tool, and SlideTV, which allows you to share videos, music and pictures with your friends. Still, I was hoping for something with a little more meaning … something that could keep me coming back to MySpace. I didn’t find it.

Now, on to my second revelation. How has MySpace been able to hold on to so many users while Facebook has been growing at such an incredible rate? I must be missing something while I surf the pages of MySpace because every time I look at one of those pages with the sunshine yellow background with lime green text on top of it I nearly have an aneurysm. And don’t get me started about profiles that play music. Yuck. “Don’t judge,” you’re saying, “We are just expressing ourselves unlike those uptight folks at Facebook.” And that is a valid point. There is much, much more personalization on a MySpace page, and if you’re into that then enjoy. I just can’t deal with the clutter and noise that clogs up the whole system.

With all that said, I think you can see where my loyalties lie … and as an interesting aside, Facebook did just pass MySpace in daily visitors today.

How do you think the two social networking giants compare? Let me know!

One Response to MySpace Applications and Network “Critique”

  1. Sitemap says:

    Sitemap…

    Sitemap…

Leave a Reply

