The Twitter Phenomenon

Twitter has become an interesting obsession of mine, I will admit it. No, not an obsession like being addicted to it or anything, but I think it has become a very interesting phenomenon in the social networking industry. Unveiled at SXSW last year, it has enjoyed steady growth since. Here are some of the reasons I think that it is such a hit, and some reasons why I like it so much.

1) Twitter has allowed me to hear ideas that I otherwise would not have had a chance to be a part of. It is a constant stream of many people’s thoughts on the internet, business, and life in general. I think that it’s a great idea to be able to broadcast yourself in almost real-time. I saw a great example of idea generation today when one of my contacts responded to a tweet from another contact, and it prompted said contact to write a blog about the difference between “Followers” and “Friends”. Genius!

2) I am following industry giants (and some are following me too!). I now have the ability to interact directly with people such as Gary Vaynerchuk and Robert Scoble, a feat that would have been nearly impossible without Twitter.

3) It is a constant news and information stream. I have read more blog posts and come up with more ideas for my own posts on Twitter than any other source. Once again, it allows people to share interesting and (mostly) meaningful things with each other.

4) You can either add value to a conversation, or talk to yourself. I have fallen into both categories. For example, Chris Brogan asks his followers several questions a day, and I have added my two cents every once in a while. But on the other hand, I’ll broadcast what I ate for breakfast that morning.

Twitter can be either a powerful social tool, or just give you an outlet to share your thoughts and feelings. Either way, it adds great value to the internet and I hope that it stays around for a while. Who knows what else I will learn? What are your thoughts on the matter? Have you seen something cool on Twitter lately? Feel free to follow my Twitter feed as well!

Leave a Reply

