Blogging: Harder than it Looks

How many people have wanted to chronicle an adventure or important part of their lives but had no one who wanted to listen? My guess is a lot. I’ve found that blogging is an outlet that allows people to broadcast their lives, journeys, or pretty much anything else they feel is important to them. As I continue my journey into the web 2.0 world, I am realizing more and more – and one thing I am noticing is that keeping a relevant and interesting blog is much harder than it looks.

I feel that I have been able to keep my posts pretty relevant and on topic, but I’m finding that I am lacking inspiration. There’s no way for me to keep up with the mega-blogs like Mashable, The Social Times and TechCrunch … they are so far ahead of the curve that it is near impossible to beat them  to a story or to have a new take on it.

So here’s the deal. From now on, I’ll only be writing about things that really grab my interest. I don’t want to write any articles about Microsoft/Yahoo, people are hearing enough about that stuff in other places. I want this blog to be compelling, and I want to be able to share my own thoughts and opinions on topics that matter to me. I would like to know me for my opinions, not my ability to repeat the facts of a breaking story. That’s just not who I am.

I think that is what every blog should try to accomplish. People are becoming tired of reading the same stories over and over. I’m going to try to give things a new twist; I want to let people know what I really think and know what I’m really interested in.

Are you sick of people churning out copycat stories? Let me know. And if there’s anything you’d like to hear about … tell me!

Leave a Reply

